The trade mark of Ciroc vodka. Pretty much enough to win me over ;). We usually have tequila & wine at our house, but our neighbor gave us a huge bag of lemons & we wanted to make some lemon drops last night.
I recently learned that not all vodka is gluten-free. I always thought it was made from potato. After doing a quick wikipedia search, I learned that potato vodka revolutionized the market in the early 19th century, however vodka can be made from a variety of ingredients including grains, potatoes, rice, grapes, molasses, etc. I found the below list of popular vodkas & what they are distilled from on G-Free Foodie:
– Wheat: Stolichnaya (blend), Grey Goose, Ketel One, Snow Queen, Pearl, Van Gogh (blend), La Chance, Vox, Polar Ice, Absolut, Trump, X-Rated (blend), *Three Olives is also Wheat-distilled, but declares itself to be Gluten-Free on the Three Olives website
– Rye: Belvedere
– Barley: Finlandia, Koskenkorva
– Corn: Smirnoff, SF Vodka “Baker Beach”
– Potato: Chopin, Teton Glacier, Monopolowa, Vikingfjord, Luksosowa, Blue Ice
– Grape: Cîroc, Bombora, DiVine, SF Vodka “China Beach”
We went with the Ciroc last night. This vodka went down smoothly. It was great shaken with some fresh lemon, a little bit of simple syrup, & topped off with soda water. And no hangover! I am also happy to have broadened my cocktail choices!
Cheers!PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I only recommend products that I wholeheartedly believe to be valuable or that I use myself. Rubies & Radishes is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com